Fall 2014 Anime Season Mid-Way Review

So at this point the season has hit it’s midway point with most shows being on their 5th to 7th episodes now (or 17th to 19th for the two cour shows). So instead of just choosing one show to give my thoughts on today I thought I would give my thoughts of everything I have watched so far and where they are standing for me in say terms of enjoyment. The order I will use is just using my watchlist going from Monday through Sunday.

[STAMP]

Inou Battle wa Nichijou-kei no Naka de: I seem to be on agreement with many others here with this show, while the comedy can sometimes fall flat the characters themselves and their interactions with one another, especially in the I suppose you would call it drama department, are stellar for me. I am really looking forward to seeing where it goes and it will probably end up being one of those 12/13 episode shows that I wish there was more of at the rate it is going.

Orenchi no Furo Jijou: Did not care for this what so ever. I was confused, bored, and lost on the first episode the second didn’t do anything to improve upon it. It really seemed like it was trying to be a Yaoi show without the Yaoi. Wasn’t really working out for it. Dropped it.

Shingeki no Bahamut: Genesis: This is easily in my Top 5 of the season, but because so much is great this season I decided I couldn’t simply choose just 5 and ended up with a Top 12 of the season when someone asked me. The action, colors, and interactions of the cast are amazing and I look forward to each episode. I also don’t forget about it even though it is on FUNimation and I tend to forget their simulcasts unless something really good is out.

Honestly! Does this look like the face of a liar?

Akatsuki no Yona: Every episode thus far has done the same thing for me. Almost bores me to the point of thinking about dropping, then somewhere out of my field of vision something happens to whip me right back to interested. The previous episode did it just the same and so I decided instead of dropping I would be keeping up with the show as it goes along at this point.

Trinity Seven: Another that would probably be in my Top 5 if I had forced myself down to 5 shows only. The MC is great especially for the harem setting, and all the girls are cute and likable so far. I will admit I don’t exactly care for Lillith and the way the last sin was introduced rubbed me the wrong way. But everyone praises her as best girl from the manga apparently so I am giving her a shot still. Doubt she will be ninja girl for me though, Levi is awesome.

Hitsugi no Chaika: Avenging Battle: Chaika is a fun ride. If you enjoyed the first season, so far the second season is much the same with just a bit more oomph I guess. Especially after the last episode and Chaika’s recent anthromorphic gundo upgrade. Really looking forward to seeing how the season closes out and whether or not it leads to an end or to another season.

Chaika

Daitoshokan no Hitsujikai: I was told that I shouldn’t like this show, that it has nothing good about it and it just there for the eye candy girls. Well I think that might be why I like it… but other than that there is also the whole sub-plot going on to turn the MC into the next Shepherd that has me intrigued. Actually looking forward to what happens with this one.

Denki-gai no Honya-san: Can’t bring myself to hate the anime. I loved the manga far too much. Even though I feel like the manga was a better medium for the story being told… it is just pure enjoyment seeing something you read animated on your screen.

Danna ga Nani wo Itteiru ka Wakaranai ken: This short really gets a lot of my enjoyment. There is a lot to love in it I feel even if the recent episode was probably the weakest so far. Also killed some of my enjoyment learning the hot wife smoked… bleh….

DbFaIJQ

Ore, Twintails ni Narimasu: Humor did not entertain me, guy turning into chick with twintails did not entertain me, even the twin tailed girls did not get my enjoyment. I tried the second episode and got bored and actually went to find something on Netflix to watch instead. Dropped.

Shigatsu wa Kimi no Uso: I don’t really know what happened here… it wasn’t like the others I dropped where I hated it almost instantly after watching it, in fact I enjoyed the first episode and the better part of the second. But it just continued to degrade in my eyes and I just kinda… dunno guess I got fed up with it? Might marathon post season if I hear good things about it but for now… Dropped.

Shirobako: Another great anime this season that so far has only one complaint from me especially after the recent episode. For the love of all that is holy PLEASE fire Takanashi!! How many big screw ups can one guy cause before this is warranted AND needed?!

shirobako

Fairy Tail: Don’t worry big guy… i’ll catch you up… someday… I mean I am only like… just starting the new season really…

Donten ni Warau: Unlike Yona which moved itself away from close to being dropped to being decent, this one is still teetering on the edge. I haven’t quite dropped it because there is still interest there, which probably means I will be keeping it, but it is still oh so close to being boring that I keep thinking of dropping it when I am not watching it at least.

Log Horizon 2: Much of the same Log Horizon stuff that I loved but with more focus on Akatsuki whom is my favorite character? It is a double win and I don’t care how much you hate Akatsuki.

Akatsuki8

Sword Art Online 2: So it looks like the recent ALO/Excalibur arc is already over and we will be going into the next arc starting this weekend. I am kind of sad about this because unlike most of everyone else I found the ALO stuff to be interesting, almost as much as the SAO stuff, and found the GGO stuff kind of bland except for the moments with Sinon in it. I am not sure what is coming up but I have been told to be ready for some fun apparently, so I guess I am still looking forward to it.

World Trigger: Slow… boring… nothing interesting happening… I think this one would be better to watch in one go. As such it is what I will do, or I will just check out the manga as it releases stateside. Dropped.

Madan no Ou to Vanadis: Despite what I thought going in judging by the artwork this series has really kept my interest and things seem to be picking up each episode, I am really wanting to see where it all goes in the end. Also hope for a two cour season, but won’t hold my breath on info I don’t know about.

vanadis4

Ushinawareta Mirai wo Motomete: Visual change by second episode. Story didn’t interest me. Characters were pretty bland and boring. Dropped.

Sora no Method: Noel is literally the only reason I am holding on to this show I think now… which is not really a good reason to be watching a show. The characters are bland, the drama is incredibly forced, and there is really nothing all that interesting happening. Still debating on dropping… but I am not really sure why.

Ookami Shoujo to Kuro Ouji: I am surprised I like this one as much as I do right now. I think it might be because it is remotely the only shoujo this season but it could also be that I am slowly growing fond of the characters, despite that the dude is still a complete ass.

Ookami-Shoujo-to-Kuro-Ouji-Cool-Anime-2014

Akame ga Kill: Someone might remember how I said I wouldn’t let this one fall behind again, well I lied apparently. It kinda got all samey and bland, so I was hoping putting it to the side would make it less so and let me just burn through the last bunch of episodes at some point.

Girlfriend Beta: So yeah this one… characters a cute… I guess… but I fell asleep and had no idea what the point of the show was. Dropped.

Grisaia no Kajitsu: This VN adaptation seems to be pulling the Amagami SS adaptation route where each girl gets their own set number of episodes, then the show resets to a certain point before the next girl. It seems interesting and it isn’t bad though everyone seems to be complaining about stuff being left out… like it is their first time seeing an adaptation of something…

Grisaia-no-Kajitsu-anime-image-002

Gugure! Kokkuri-san: Another contender of my top 5 if I made that. I love the comedy, most of the characters, and pretty much everything else so far of this show. I’m waiting to see how long it is before the animal forms of the cast start becoming plush dolls.

Encouragement of Climb 2: So this one isn’t on my list, because I forgot about it… in the sense that I forgot that it even got a season 2 because it was kind of forgotten about in most circles it seemed. Not much to say about this one, I like it and that is all there really is to it.

Post Season Watches:

Yuuki Yuuna wa Yuusha de Aru

Amagi Brilliant Park

Seven Deadly Sins

Garo

WIXOSS

Fate/Stay Night

One thought on “Fall 2014 Anime Season Mid-Way Review

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Bran New Day Blog

A simple blog about Gaming, Anime, Game Development, and Anything else I can think of.

In the Cubbyhole

Traversing the world of anime & videogames

The Portuguese Bibliophile

The blog of a girl who loves to read and talk about books.

The August Hail

Official + Fan Translated Light Novel Reviews

Falconhaxx

This and that, sometimes and occasionally.

Nia Blog - Art & Technology

My favourite purchases, my videos and my designs

Healthy.Nappy.Nerdy.Mommy.

My life chronicles about healthy living, natural hair, nerdy interest, as a loving wife and mother.

Weekend Otaku

Spring is blooming all around

