Fall 2014 Season: A Final(ish) Look

The Fall season for anime is more or less over. In fact I believe it is actually over now the only reason I say more or less is the fact there are still shows I have yet to start that I want to start. Now normally I guess most people would rank the shows of the season in some sort of order ranging from best to worst I guess. But… I don’t think I will because it really feels as for the last two weeks I have not even turned my Roku on to watch a show… even though my list is empty short of what I have not started which means I did watch everything… or I dropped it but that is another matter entirely.

Anyway… what this post will be will just be me talking a bit about the shows I watched and how I liked or disliked them as well as gloss over the ones I still need to worm my way over to the darkside to watch. I will include ones carrying into the next season here mostly because 1) I have no idea as of right now which ones are or are not carrying over off the top of my head. 2) I am too lazy to work them out.

So I am just going to work my way down my watch list and go over the shows one by one. Let’s do this!

[STAMP]

Inou Battle wa Nichijou-kei no Naka de

So starting out here with InoBato I have to say this was a big surprise for me this season. Even though the show ended more or less how I imagined it would about five episodes in it was a really good show. Was it anything stellar or amazing? Not really. Also it didn’t seem like it could make up its mind of “Should we focus on the relationships or the super powers?” so there was a lot of times where it would seem to go from a light hearted romcom to some sort of fairy war going on. Overall it was still good though and it came out with quite a few great characters to fall in love with, specifically Chifuyu and Hatoko.

Such a long winded name...

Oh… and Tomoyo… I guess.

Shingeki no Bahamut: Genesis

As I mentioned at the beginning of the season, if it is a fantasy series it has a good chance of being a favorite despite its quality. Bahamut though had amazing quality, a likable cast of characters (at least once I got used to them), and an interesting story coming from a fairly basic and, if I am to be frank here, crappy mobile card game that is only there for the art on the cards. I think this was one of the more popular shows this season but people started to gravitate away from it after not being able to handle the cast. In this case specifically Amira and Favaro.

bahamut4

Akatsuki no Yona

No idea what happened here… I was fully interested in the show then I had that like two week hiatus from shows around the midway point and I just had no desire to go back to this one. So as of right now I suppose you could say this one got dropped somewhere around episode 5 or so. Assuming I can give myself the time to go back and watch it (read: stop playing games on Steam) I may go back and watch this along with the others I still need to watch.

yonaTrinity Seven

Another one of my favorites of this season and with how Arata is as a harem protag it is clearly obvious as to why I should be in love with this series! Seriously though Artata’s one liners in the harem setting is exactly how most harem protags should be when surrounded by hot females of his age, rather than the spineless wimps that are usually around. But enough about that more about the show: Levi is the best, no argument, no questions. DONE!

t75Hitsugi no Chaika: Avenging Battle

Ugh… my face with this season… overall the only “love” I had for this season of Chaika was carried from its first season alone. The second season was amazingly rushed and had a completely dissatisfying ending after only ten episodes. What I wanted from this season clearly was left out but… well not everything can be a winner. Though as a watcher I generally want the second (or more) seasons to be better than the first.

chaika3

Daitoshokan no Hitsujikai

Sadly it seemed that this show was a sleeper for many. Not that it put people to sleep but that most people didn’t know of its existence at all. Sure while it wasn’t any stellar show by any means it was far from awful I thought and for a harem show I thought it had a good premise as well as an interesting story driving behind it. If for some reason there were a second season I would watch it, but the chance of that happening are probably slimmer than the chances of Oda Nobuna getting its second season.

Daitoshokan4

Denki-gai no Honya-san

Denki-gai is one of those situations where, while not a bad show really by it self, as a manga reader I just wanted to pull my hair out. Now before I continue that is NOT saying it was a a bad adaptation, in fact it was a pretty accurate adaptation. It just adapted too much of one thing and not enough of another that as a manga reader, with a preferred stock of characters over others, I was annoyed seeing who I wanted to see sidelined in favor of ones that were just not as good in my opinion. The show needed a lot more Rotty and Camera.

Camera+Rotty

Danna ga Nani wo Itteiru ka Wakaranai Ken

It is not too often that I fall in love with a short series. But this one hit all the right notes probably because of my close resemblance to the husband in the series and all my girlfriends so far being similar to the wife… Anyway really it was a good show and a second season has already been greenlit with the amazing ending that it had with the announcement of the pregnancy. Gonna look forward to that second season.

husbando4Log Horizon 2

So while I do believe Log Horizon is still going on I will put it here because it was one of the few shows I almost religiously watched week to week despite the lulls in the season I had where I watched nothing for a week or few weeks. I have loved the second season so far, mostly because it has given me an arc dedicated to my favorite character Akatsuki. More Akatsuki is good in my book, even if her timid reunion with Shiro did kind of annoy me as much as it annoys others!

Akatsuki+ShiroeSword Art Online 2

SAO 2 was really a hit or miss thing for me. It was good don’t get me wrong on that part, it was just.. oh I dunno something about it that kinda lulled me. Perhaps it was the whole nostalgia feel the second half had that just made it work but also at the same time just kinda made me go ‘eh…..’ the entire time. Of course like I said this is not saying it was bad by any means it was just… average overall.

SwordArt6

Madan no Ou to Vanadis

Yet another surprise hit with me despite the fact it had a tremendous amount of meh… moments behind it. I believe for the most part it was the cast that made this what it was for me. Ignoring the moments that brought it down, visually it was great, the cast was likable and interacted well with each other, and the story, I thought, was interesting. Despite all that though if I had scored the season this still would have been a fairly low number for me and I tend to rate highly.

vanadis5

Ookami Shoujo to Kuro Ouji

One of the shows that slipped through my fingers much like Donten ni Warau and Akatsuki no Yona, but unlike the other two, it was on my own choice. Shortly after the series started I ended up reading the manga, and after trying to go back to the anime it just was not working out for me. Thus I learned something, save the manga reading of a series for AFTER the anime if you choose to start reading it during the airing.

Ookami-Shoujo-to-Kuro-Ouji-Cool-Anime-2014

Honorable Mentions:

Gugure! Kokkuri-san: Easily my top comedy of the season though it did have its extreme lows and extreme highs.

Akame ga Kill!: While decent enough for what it was, its deviation from the manga left many in a frothing rage.

Encouragement of Climb 2: A heartwarming short series that I highly recommend.

Grisaia no Kaijitsu: Overall a decent series, though the last arc started to wear thin for me.

Dropped Pile:

Girlfriend Beta: When dropped it just was not something I could watch week to week, heard it didn’t really improve so no desire to return.

Ushinawareta Mirai wo Motomete: Dropped due to a LARGE and considerably noticeable drop in visual detail in between episodes.

World Trigger: I may return to this after it has developed out some, having read the manga I know it takes a while to kick in but week to week waiting made it too slow.

Shigatsu wa Kimi no Uso: Too much drama for me. Just not my type of show.

Ore, Twintails ni Narimasu: Just… no.

Sora no Method: I almost can’t consider this a drop as I actually watched it up to the last two episodes when I finally said to hell with it.

Orenchi no Furo Jijou: Again just… no.

Still Need to Start:

Yuuki Yuuna wa Yuusha de Aru

Amagi Brilliant Park

Seven Deadly Sins

Garo

Fate/Stay Night

Fairy Tail

About StoneWolfe6211

I'm your average twenty-something that just happens to not have your average twenty-something life. I enjoy Anime and Manga. I also like to dabble in writing and Drawing. I also play more games than is necessarily healthy.
This entry was posted in Fall 2014 Anime and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

