Wolfe’s Game-athon Day #3

So it is now the third day of my little game-athon and as predicted in my artwork post for those who actually went to look… yes today our little gaming fairies have chosen.

rebirth
Hyperdimension Neptunia Re;Birth 1

So first I will admit, even though I have had Hyperdimension Neptunia Re;Birth 1 for awhile, I have yet to beat it. I am also not sure how far I am in the game itself. I know the last time I actually picked up the game on my Vita I just got I believe it was the third goddess? I just haven’t sat down to work my way to the end yet. But putting that aside I will talk about what I do think about the game itself and all that fun stuff.

Hyperdimension Neptunia Re;Birth 1 is the Vita remake of Hyperdimension Neptunia for the PS3 brought out by Idea Factory and Compile Heart. It takes the good ol’ console wars we have seen for the last couple of decades now between XBox, Playstation, Nintendo, and Sega and turns the consoles into cute girls, since turning things into cute girls is kind of a thing for Japan.

Hyperdimension Neptunia Re;Birth 1 plays out like a fairly typical JRPG with a decent enough story (depending on your tastes of course) with a fairly simple JRPG style turn base combat system. For the most part through the game you control and play as Neptune the titular character of the series who represents Sega. Through your journeys across the game world you come across and fight against or work with the other “consoles” such as Noire, who represents being the best Playstation, Vert, who represents XBox, and Blanc, who represents Nintendo. You also work with others who are… I suppose citizens of this world such as Compa and IF.

The cast of Re;Birth and Re;Birth 2: Sisters Generation
The cast of Re;Birth and Re;Birth 2: Sisters Generation

Hyperdimension Neptunia also has recently gotten its second Vita remake brought over to the states in Hyperdimension Neptunia Re;Birth 2: Sisters Generation. Now I haven’t touched it yet, though I did buy it, because I want to try to beat the first game before going to the second. So I can’t really say much about what is in it compared to the first one other than as I understand it, it focuses on the little sisters, also known as the CPU candidates, rather than the CPU/Goddesses from the first game.

If you are a fan of JRPG’s and like stories about cute girls beating things with swords, guns, and other such things, then I would recommend trying Hyperdimension Neptunia Re;Birth 1 out. You can now pick it up on Steam if you lack a Vita to play it with and I have been led to believe it is the same game just obviously on a PC rather than a handheld console.

I would give my (unfinished play) of Hyperdimension Neptunia Re;Birth 1 7 out of 10.


But wait! There’s more!

Not spoiled out by the art post today we shall also get a second game and the gaming fairies have chosen this time…

awakening


I tend to have a policy with myself that once I beat a game, I will trade it back in so I can get a new game. This makes my game collection for my handhelds pathetically small compared to people who keep every game they have ever bought. Seriously I only have like… 15 games for my handhelds and 3 of them are digital so only about a dozen games. Anyway I have beat Fire Emblem: Awakening easily half a dozen to a dozen times and have yet to return it.

So that may give a small indication of how much I actually like the game. The Fire Emblem: Awakening is… well I would call it a new feel on retro-ish JRPG. It uses the traditional JRPG turn based fighting system on a grid style battlefield. Cutscenes are fairly well detailed compared to its battle system though. The story is what I really love about Fire Emblem: Awakening though with a mix of fantasy, time travel, and apocalypse (sorta?) elements all kind of mixed together.

Your main character, or rather who you control, is a character you create yourself with the default name Robin (though this can be changed in creation) and you work together with a large cast of characters whom join you through the course of the story, assist through missions, or convince to change from the enemy team to yours when using the right character to talk to them before fighting them, to bring down the baddies trying to destroy the world.

awakening2

Now just because I could call Fire Emblem: Awakening one of my favorite games… that doesn’t mean it is without things that I dislike. First of course like many JRPG games for me the fighting eventually gets repetitively tedious at times, luckily for Fire Emblem: Awakening the story has be invested enough to put it aside. Another thing I dislike is you have such a large cast of characters you can’t possibly use them all in every fight. This is even without DLC characters who are stupidly overpowered.

Of course as stated the story of Fire Emblem: Awakening is amazing for me and two of the things I love from it are the friendship/marriage system and time traveling aspect of it. The friendship/marriage system is in place where the more you and your partner work together or team up you get to know each other better, then through side stories you become friends, and if eligible are able to marry. These allow you to work better as partners in combat as well as have kids if married.

Now Fire Emblem: Awakening isn’t over such a long period of time you actually have kids and see them grow to full adults, you do have A child at one point. But later in the game you will see your kids actually as grown adults (and they join your fighting team(s)) because of all of the wibbly wobbly timey wimey stuff that happens. This can become interesting as your FUTURE child can marry someone from your CURRENT time. Thus all sorts of more timey wimey stuff happens.

I have an obsession with Tharja, which is funny because she has an obsession with your character.
I have an obsession with Tharja, which is funny because she has an obsession with your character.

Overall I would highly recommend trying Fire Emblem: Awakening out, but hey I am biased as it is one of my favorites. But I haven’t yet met someone who flatout said they hated it either.

I would easily give Fire Emblem: Awakening 9 or 10 out of 10.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Bran New Day Blog

A simple blog about Gaming, Anime, Game Development, and Anything else I can think of.

In the Cubbyhole

Traversing the world of anime & videogames

The Portuguese Bibliophile

The blog of a girl who loves to read and talk about books.

The August Hail

Official + Fan Translated Light Novel Reviews

Falconhaxx

This and that, sometimes and occasionally.

Nia Blog - Art & Technology

My favourite purchases, my videos and my designs

Healthy.Nappy.Nerdy.Mommy.

My life chronicles about healthy living, natural hair, nerdy interest, as a loving wife and mother.

Weekend Otaku

Spring is blooming all around

