Anime Madness: Coming back to anime. (Assassination Class)

People who know me, know I’ve been away from watching anime solidly for a few seasons now. In the past few days, I’ve made a big return. So I’m doing a short anime post on one anime I watched so far. Assassination Class! aka AssClass.

I watched 1-4 randomly at the start of it’s season and stopped. Yesterday I watched 5-12, and today 13 (current episode). And so, here are my thoughts on it.

Savage Youth!

First here is the info detail of the anime Funimation has on their site.

Story

Forget about homework and pop quizzes. The students of Class 3E have a far more important assignment: kill their teacher before the end of the year! A tentacle-d sensei that moves at Mach 20 is out to conquer the classroom after destroying seventy percent of the moon. In addition to reading, writing, and arithmetic, the murderous monster behind the lectern will teach his students everything he knows about the assassination game. Should some eager beaver prove to be a quick study in killing, he or she will save Earth from extinction – and collect a hefty reward. But they’d better take some serious notes while class is in session because their slaughtering sensei has eight deadly tentacles just waiting to wreak havoc on humanity!

Also, Funimation is who is legally simulcasting the show. Once on Fridays at 1:25 EST, and another time as a Dubcast on Wednesdays at 8:00pm EST.

So let’s start with the bit I randomly watched at the start of its season. 1-4.

Episode 1: I personally loved this episode, this got me very hyped.

Episode 2-4: These were middling to me. The short bits of a student having a problem and the teacher fixing it didn’t grab me as much. Though this will change later, because as I started watching again I started to like that aspect. But at this moment, not so much. The baseball problem felt weak at the time, and episode 3 felt too heavy to be solved so quickly at the end.

I was told at this point, that it would get better, and it did. Early they wanted to show off how an awesome teacher Koro was, it just didn’t click with me at that time. Episode 2 and 4 felt weak, and 3 as I said, felt too heavy (the heaviness I liked) to be solved too quickly.

Now people who know me, know I’ve fangirling over this anime alot yesterday and today. Now I could try to explain why, but maybe it could simply be time away from it. Personally I also think they are bringing in better stuff now.

Episodes 5-13:

With episode 5-6 we get to see how the school treats the students of Class 3-E. We kind of knew, and we knew how bad they felt about it. But here we got to see how it works out. It was nice to see this.

Also episode 5 sported one of the reasons I love this anime. Nagisa and his Bloodlust.

Screenshot_8

Nagisa is one reason I love this anime. He’s the main character, while Koro is the anti-hero. And for a main character of a Shounen, he is very subtle and not as outwardly forward. Unlike other main characters in Shounen’s that can be loud-mouthed.

Another reason I love this anime is that it builds up what makes Nagisa cool. Really for episode 1-12, we don’t see anything really badass from him yet. (Episode 13 is where it’s shown.) But they did build it up. Episode 1 when he attacks Koro and in episode 5 when he scares the bullies away with just his bloodlust.

Episode 7-8 is a school trip, which was good. But, the only thing that I really can pick from it was it gave us some details on the characters making them more whole. (simple things like the guys making a list of their favorite girls.) I really enjoyed these episodes.

Episode 9+11 bring in new students. Episode 9 is more funny, and an interesting way to show Koro to being a good teacher.

Episode 11 brings in a cool fight with its new student.

Episode 12 gives another example of building on things. In episode 2, when they did a bit with the baseball player character, it didn’t really grab me. As I said, it felt weak. But the pay off in episode 12 was really worth it. It had some cool moments and we get to see the principal dude being eviiiiil.

EPISODE 13: Has Nagisa being a badass and connecting the build up to it. This episode turned me into a fangirl.

So, all in all, I recommend this anime!

Anime, how I missed ye.

This entry was posted in Anime and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

