Devils, Heroes, and Video Games

OK so that title may be confusing. I’m sorry. Not really.

Anyway! Since my plans to visit family in Texas has backfired thanks to the tenuous relationship Mother Nature and the Midwest has I decided I should do something of a blog post today.

So today I will be doing a very light review of three Light Novels I own. I say a ‘light review’ because I have not finished any of the three yet, so really I probably shouldn’t be talking about them yet. But I still want to do a blog post about em. GOT A PROBLEM WITH THAT?!

*cough*

So let’s just consider this a post saying what I am currently reading and whether or not I suggest you should read them.


Up first!

The Devil is a Part-Timer

The Devil is a Part-Timer

DO YOU WANT FRIES WITH YOUR HELLFIRE?

Being soundly thrashed by the hero Emilia, the Devil King and his general beat a hasty retreat to a parallel universe… only to land smack in the middle of bustling, modern-day Tokyo! Lacking the magic necessary to return home, the two are forced to assume human identities and live average human lives until they can find a better solution. And to make ends meet, Satan finds gainful employment at a nearyby fast food joint! With his devilish mid set on working his way up the managagement food chain, what will become of his thirst for conquest?!

OK so I really probably shouldn’t be reviewing this one AT ALL. As I have not done much more than read the first few pages and the back cover. But from that small amount I can tell the writing style used is something that will make me enjoy the novel itself. Also the series is in my Top Anime List so I just absolutely had to get the light novel when I saw it up at Barnes and Nobel. Of the three I am talking about today I think this one has the most potential right now.


Second on the list today:

danmachi

“HELLO, WHITE-HAIR.”

When someone calls out to Bell with these words, he discovers that the voice belongs to a girl who introduces herself as Lilly. Somewhat goaded into teaming up with her despite the many doubts running through his head, Bell has a successful turn in the dungeon with his new companion.

Though their alliance is short-lived, the negative rumors swirling around the guild to which Lilly belongs, the Soma Familia, are anything but. Later Bell is confronted by the tales of a mysterious sacred wine said to steal the hearts of all who drink it, and—?!

It is hardly a hidden fact right now I am enjoying Danmachi’s anime airing right now. It hasn’t been consistent enough to make my top anime list sure but it is still good nonetheless. The light novels while having a great story in my eyes and even decent artwork, is just written in a way I personally dislike. I don’t really know what it is about it but whatever it is I seem to rush through reading in it then I will get too a point I don’t understand cause it is calling on information that I ended up rushing through earlier. So I have to continuously read, re-read, and possibly re-read it again to get everything down. It also just kind of gives me a headache and I always read it in short spurts of like 15 or 20 mins before I have to put it aside and read something else.

So on one hand while I consider Danmachi’s LN good because of its story I also consider it bad because if I am having to re-read things, possibly multiple times, to get things down and I also can’t just sit there and read it in one go. This really makes it a case where when trying to promote it I highly suggest finding a sample of it if you can before buying it to see if you have the same troubles as I do or not.


The final novel on the list today:

Sword Art Online

Sword Art Online

READ THE NOVEL THAT IGNITED THE PHENOMENON!

Kirito plunges into a suspicious new VRMMORPG called ALfheim Online to rescue Asuna, who never returned from Sword Art Online. ALO offers many features to entertain players in the wake of SAO: ultra-high-end graphics, action-heavy gameplay, a choice of fairy races, and a next-generation flight engine. Playing as a spriggan, Kirito heads for the location of Asuna’s prison– the top of the World Tree, the final destination of every player in the game! Along the way, Kirito nearly falls to a plot hatched by the enemy Salamnders, just barely surviving the ordeal with the help of a Sylph named Leafa and his Navigation Pixie, Yui. But just as Kirito and Leafa make it to the foot of the World Tree, the end of their quest in sight, each realizes the other has a very big secret…

I am not exactly the biggest fan of SAO but that is mostly caused by the rabid fans and haters of the series. Ignoring those… things… though it isn’t an awful series really, definitely not the best sure, but decent enough. This is seen as well in its LN’s which are written well in a way that I enjoy reading them and while the story itself could be a little far-fetched I guess it isn’t exactly the worst thing I have read either.

This series though is one of those ones that translates it seems evenly between its anime and novel counterparts. If you prefer watching your action taking place rather than reading it I would go and just watch the anime. If you prefer reading about it then pick up the LN’s which there are now five of out in English. Of course if you like both mediums by all means try out both.


That will be it for today. Enjoy any new reading material you pick up!

About StoneWolfe6211

I'm your average twenty-something that just happens to not have your average twenty-something life. I enjoy Anime and Manga. I also like to dabble in writing and Drawing. I also play more games than is necessarily healthy.
This entry was posted in Wolfes Book Corner and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Devils, Heroes, and Video Games

  1. Pingback: News: Light Novel Articles (May 2015) | English Light Novels

Leave a Reply

