Anime Madness – World Trigger

Oh look at this. An anime post? Since my return to anime, after a few seasons break, I have consumed a lot. (Three seasons of Slayers, El Cazador x2, Gun x Sword, Assassination Class – to name a few.) But, I’m having trouble thinking of how to talk about them. Talking about 75 episodes of a 90s anime is just hard, maybe I’ll get to it someday.

So instead I’m going to talk about World Trigger that I’ve only seen 18 out of 32 of.  So let’s do this.

Sniper Rifle is bigger than she is.

Here’s some basic information. World Trigger is an anime legally on Crunchyroll. It started airing in the Fall 2014 season. And here’s the synopsis on Crunchyroll.

One day, a gate to another world opened in Mikado City. Invaders from another dimension, referred to thereafter as Neighbors, overran the area around the gate, leaving the city gripped by fear. However, a mysterious group suddenly appeared and repelled the Neighbors. This Border Defense Agency independently researches Neighbor technology and fights to protect this world. In a short time, they managed to build an enormous base and prepare a defensive system against the Neighbors. it’s been four years since then.

Which is probably much the world backstory and, to me, not the most interesting part of the show. But, it works for setting things up.

I didn’t check out this anime until a month ago. When it first began airing, a good amount of people said it was slow. More recently, people have been saying its picked up and gotten real good. Myself, I marathoned episode 1-18 and loved the show pretty much from the start. Maybe back-to-back verse weekly it has a different flow, it didn’t feel too slow to me.

Because of this, I have stopped watching. The show is confirmed for 50 episodes, and I rather marathon it as a whole. Worse feeling would be catching up and becoming a weekly wait. I prefer a few months wait instead. I’m weird.

But, as I said, I loved what I watch. So, what did I love?

1. Character Designs: This may be a weird one to first point out. But, good character designs can do a show wonders I feel. Example: Blood Blockade Battlefront. Personally I feel one reason BBB was memorable at first, even when there was only one or two episodes were out, was the character designs. Fan art exploded with these people. They are simple but memorable. I feel the same about the character designs in World Trigger here. The people and their uniforms are simple, but nice looking. And this bring us to number two….

2. Large Cast, handled well: World Trigger is shounen, and commonly those have large casts. There are a lot more people than in that image above. Different shows handle this differently, well or badly. I feel that World Trigger handles it quite well. At first, seeing the opening song (or midway song, or ending song. Depends what it feels like doing), you see a montage of characters. The different colors make it catchy, but really you like ‘who are these people’. By episode 18 I can see each one in the opening and remember a good bit about them. Even with the simple designs, all the different color team uniforms and the small differences characters have to the uniform, surprisingly do a good job of of making them stand out. There are a good about of different eye styles, and hair. It all combines to make it easy to keep track of them. This is shown well in episodes 13-16. I believe. These four episodes show the first battle with a couples of teams verse a couple other teams. There are a good number of players in this battle and its easy to keep track. Speaking of that batttle – number three is….

Love this eye design.
Love this eye design.

3. Battle and Weapon System: Episodes 13-16 is the first time we get to grasp the battle and weapon system of this world. Till this point we got glimpses, but they weren’t the best examples. A.) We either got to fight big monsters, with was good but not the whole picture. B.) When we got people verse people, it was one team verse one person and that person had an Black trigger. Episode 13-16 we get the first large scale people verse people fight. (Yes Jin’s trigger is also has a Black Trigger. But, there’s more than just him.) In the background, we also have the different triggers being explained off the battle-field while seeing them in use in the battle. It all comes together quite well. And, aside from Jin’s Black Trigger, all the people are using normal triggers. The battle and weapon system in this anime is pretty damn interesting while being pretty damn simple. Simple tools turned into interesting fights and strategies, which we get good examples in this larger scale battle. It’s not the flashiest combat, but its kind of refreshing in a way.

So those are the main three things I’ve taken away from the anime. There are other things, but this post is getting large. (I love Yuma’s background episode was grand, Chika’s Side Effect and what it means is interesting to me, the show has good funny moments.) And I’m only 18 episodes in a show with 32 now, and 50 planned. So if these points stay strong I do not know.  I will take a quick moment to talk about the characters, now that I think of it.

The Main Four

Let’s start on the left. Jin is an awesome guy to me at this point. He seems like a cool senpai and seems to really care about the three others. He starts with a strong Black Trigger, but gives it up to help Yuma. He does seem to have some kind of plan, but I think it’s for a good thing hopefully. He is the oldest and, even without his Black Trigger, has great combat experience.

Chika is a quiet girl who has to deal with having such a huge cube there which attracts Neighbors. But, it also is her main strength. Having such a large Trion supply gives her an advantage in this world, which we have only seen a few times really though. Her cube supply also gives wtf  funny moments. (Like when she blows a hole through a wall).

Yuma is a true Neighbor from the other world, and his personality and outlook is interesting to me. But, I can’t put in words why. His lack of purpose for himself is a sad element. He is powerful in his own way. He has a Black Trigger, but even when he stops using it, his great combat experience for his age is a great skill in it’s own way.

Which leaves Osamu who is….average in all ways and has no outright strength element. Which I think is the point. This is highlighted in episode 18. His two teammates are powerful in their ways, Jin is great at combat and has a good Side Effect. Osamu through, I think, the point of his character is how he can use his mind and creativeness to overcome his averageness. His hard work and flexible is his strong point, and dealing with things that way is his character. And – really – I’m hoping it stays that way. I feel with how it built him like this, it’d be copping out if he gets a large power upgrade somehow. Other than that, I don’t have much thoughts on him. He does good for the job his character has, but is my least favorite of the four.

And, that’s my thoughts on World Trigger. Wow turned out way longer than I thought. Let’s hope I can do another anime post sooner next time. Enjoy.

One thought on “Anime Madness – World Trigger

Add yours

  1. You’ve basically covered all the reasons for why I love WT. I just wanted to leave a comment for that, and also that I got into WT the same way? I was bored one weekend and remembered seeing the name somewhere. By that time, I think about 20 episodes were out? So after marathoning them one terrible procrastinating weekend, I really got into the series. As you mentioned, the slow beginning turned a lot of people away from this series, so hopefully we can grow as a fandom by convincing more people to watch past the first few episodes!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Bran New Day Blog

A simple blog about Gaming, Anime, Game Development, and Anything else I can think of.

In the Cubbyhole

Traversing the world of anime & videogames

The Portuguese Bibliophile

The blog of a girl who loves to read and talk about books.

The August Hail

Official + Fan Translated Light Novel Reviews

Falconhaxx

This and that, sometimes and occasionally.

Nia Blog - Art & Technology

My favourite purchases, my videos and my designs

Healthy.Nappy.Nerdy.Mommy.

My life chronicles about healthy living, natural hair, nerdy interest, as a loving wife and mother.

Weekend Otaku

Spring is blooming all around

