Manga Ramblings: Comedy Gold

Hello Everyone!

This post comes from the past, as I am writing it on Wednesday, since today, Saturday, being the day I am more than likely screaming my head off as I fall down a few stories on various metal death traps at an amusement park.

So a couple months back I started that Saturday manga blog post thing that I completely forgot about apparently last month (I totally blame me writing that story, among a few other things…).

I ended up getting a title for it, seen above, and have chosen comedy as today’s topic. Let’s get to it!

D-Frag3

D-Frag

The story focuses on a semi-connected series of sketches as delinquent student Kenji Kazama is forced into joining his school’s struggling “Game Creation Club” by its members, a quartet of crazy women with their own eccentricities that drive him crazy. As he attempts to distance himself from the club, the more he seems to run into not only his fellow club members, but others from his school who drive him insane to different degrees.

D-Frag is a fun one for me. Though it does have periods of being pretty slow or even rehashing old dead beaten jokes over and over again it is still fairly enjoyable. The main cast is fairly enjoyable with the recurring cast adding in some good charm.

The comedy point, or perhaps charm point?, of the series would be the slapstick comedy that D-Frag uses. With Kazama the MC, and sometimes with assistance from Takeo seen above, using the straight-man act on the rest of the characters insane logic used.

For the most part D-Frag doesn’t have much in the way of a story as much as it has connecting pieces of comedy used in a sort of a timeline provided, or arcs I guess would make as much sense here.

I would recommend D-Frag to any interested in some wacky humor but be warned that updates out on the dark side seem to take awhile, the English official translations are a fair bit behind, and either way by the time either you or the English translations catch up you may end up bored of the series due to all the rehashed jokes.


gintama

Gintama

OK to hell with a synopsis for Gin Tama only one I can find is like 5 paragraphs long.

Anyway Gin Tama is kind of a two parter. On on hand it is primarily high on slapstick comedy with glasses… Shinpachi delivering the straight man lines most of the time to Gintoki’s lazy logic. On the other hand Gin Tama goes through some serious arcs where it shows off why it is in Shonen Jump with Gintoki being a literal awesome badass.

Since this post is focusing on the comedy I will recommend this to… well anyone actually. The comedy is literally comedy gold. I only personally own 3 volumes and laughed way to hard at it, given I may have been influenced having seen the anime already before, and with its jumps into the serious arcs it gives a nice breath of something new every now and again.


fatherandson4

Father and Son

The unpredictable and wild son, Shou. And the former gangster, hands-on father who looks Out for him, You-san. Follow the lively Father and Son pair, as their everyday life is sure to eventful. Won’t you take a peek at this slice-of-life, slapstick but easygoing Father and Son comedy?

This one is a fairly new one in my sights. Recently picked up by Crunchyroll and only I believe three volumes out translated it was a fairly quick read on the daily antics of a wild son and his father.

It was actually pretty enjoyable albeit being short currently and I honestly can’t wait for more because simple lovable stories like this work well for me personally. I would definitely recommend anyone to try it if they liked similar slice of life/comedy series like Yotsuba, Silver Nina, or Barakamon.

About StoneWolfe6211

I'm your average twenty-something that just happens to not have your average twenty-something life. I enjoy Anime and Manga. I also like to dabble in writing and Drawing. I also play more games than is necessarily healthy.
This entry was posted in Manga. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

