Winter 2016 Anime — First Episode Impressions (Part Three)

Alright!

Unlike yesterday today I am not reluctant to get started on my simulcasts.

Perhaps because there is actually something I was wanting to see?

That or I am just in a better mood today.

Either way let’s get this started!

 

tabimachi

Tabi Machi Late Show

This was a really interesting premiere.

It is a short and at first I was inwardly complaining about the stop and go animation and the visuals being lacking.

But then I remembered not everything has to be on KyoAni levels for visuals or animation.

And the story it was portraying in its short 8 minutes was sweet and relaxing.

As I understand it this is supposed to be a series of only like four episodes and I am not sure if it will all look like this or if it will be more like AnimeExpo or whatever it is called and have different animation styles and stories each episode.

Either way despite my initial thoughts on it the show was actually really good.


 

ooyasan.png

Ooya-san wa Shishunki!

Well this short seems to be suffering what I will call the “Komori-san Problem”.

As many may recall from me talking about it last season is Komori-san wa Kotowarenai was too short for what it tried to deliver.

This seems to be going the same route being the extra short 2minute episode and getting good right at the end.

Oh well it was cute and it is short so it will be easy to fit in this season.


 

grimgar.gif

Hai to Gensou no Grimgar

Hmm…

So Grimgar was what I was looking forward to seeing today. Primarily because fantasy.

It looks like it will be another one of those “sucked into a game” type of shows. The cast suddenly appears in the world, but with no memories, and then are trained as your stereotypical fantasy game classes: Fighter, Rogue, Archer (hunter), Priest, Mage, etc etc.

The crew that we are following are obviously a bunch of kids and apparently are weaker than hell as they can not even defeat a single goblin.

As for the show… I want to like it. I really do. The characters seem somewhat interesting and are really well done visually. The background, while rough, also are interesting.

The problem is they don’t mix. Making the characters stand out far too much against the background. It is as if someone at the production company said “We don’t need backgrounds, no one looks at them anyway.” But then realized at the last minute that having the characters on a white background is bad and told the background guys to throw something behind the characters.

As such… I now don’t have really any hopes for this show going forward. I will keep with it to see if it gets better but I think it might end up as a drop before long.


 

DW.gif

Dimension W

I really have no idea what was going on.

But I like the characters, animation, and what semblance of a story there is… and that is about all I need right now to keep up with a show.

The girl… robot… thing? Is cute as well. Also she has a tail.

This season is giving me Robot Girls with Ears and Tails. I am liking it.


 

bbkbrk

Bubuki Buranki

Another interesting show comes out of the woodworks.

At first I was going to ignore it because of the picture they were using for the show itself.

But after actually trying it this one may end up as a favorite this season depending how it plays out.

The animation style is very similar to that of Arpeggio, which I enjoyed back when it aired, and the cast seems pretty fun and interesting.

If I were to put some gripes in it would be… I couldn’t really follow what all was going on.

Scenes as the MC was a kid seemed to jump around. Then there was the ten year skip… MC only looks like he aged maybe… four or five years… no clue where his sister is unless I missed something.

I really have no idea what was going on other than the police and government seem to hate the MC because of something his mother did (or didn’t?) do.

BUT putting those aside it was still visually stunning and it drew me in. So I can expect to keep watching this one I suppose.


 

pso

Phantasy Star Online 2

We end today on a fairly lower note.

I wouldn’t exactly say I hated or even disliked the show. Though there were some clear parts where I was straining myself from not closing the video tab.

It was more like… nothing pulled me into the show. The animation changed so many times it was a bit jarring. The characters were fairly flat from what was introduced. As well as it just not appealing to me I guess.

I wonder if it is because I have no knowledge of the game this show is based on?

I want to give it a shot though so I will give it a couple episodes to see if it can pull me in. But right now the outlook for it is grim.

About StoneWolfe6211

I'm your average twenty-something that just happens to not have your average twenty-something life. I enjoy Anime and Manga. I also like to dabble in writing and Drawing. I also play more games than is necessarily healthy.
This entry was posted in Winter 2016 Anime and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Winter 2016 Anime — First Episode Impressions (Part Three)

  1. aidenraine says:

    we watched PSO2 in a Rabbit on friday and proceeded to mercilessly make fun of it. it made the show MUCH more palpable. and having knowledge of the game really doesn’t make it any better at all. it’s a really stupid show.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

