Winter 2016 Anime — First Episode Impressions (Part Four)

And thus begins what will be my last jump into simulcasts first episodes for this season.

If there is anything else that I missed and gets a lot of praise, and I want to bother checking it out, I will then watch it. But otherwise this was way more than I intended to watch anyway.

Onwards!

wasteland

Shoujo-tachi wa Kouya wo Mezasu

This was actually pretty interesting but… it was on a dull scale?

The premise seems to be more or less exactly like Saekano except with MC and worst-girl Utaha switching places as wanting to make the game and being the writer.

There is actually another guy in the show (oh my god) and of the introduced cast so far I can only say I like him, the MC, and the overly energetic actor friend.

The animation and characters did well, even despite me not caring for the girl who wants to make the game, and it looks like it could be fun to watch though it is rife with potential for petty teen drama primarily of the who likes who type.

I might keep watching it though. Hard to say since my Hulu sub ends in like two days.


 

bahamutchronicle.png

Undefeated Bahamut Chronicle

Well… this one is pretty much basic Light Novel fantasy/sci-fi high school battle harem straight out.

The MC is a moe-boy who falls through a roof into the girls baths. Lands on the main female who then challenges him to a duel which she eventually loses and falls for the MC. You also have the token sister and sisters best friend. Stalker girl. Couple of girls probably on some sort of student council. And of course they will add more.

Putting that all aside at least it was visually good and animated well. Has a sort of Infinite Stratos vibe to it given the whole exo-skeletal armor thing going on.

It wasn’t exactly a great premiere. But far from awful either I think.

It is hard to say if I will keep up with it given my Hulu sub disappearing soon… but this is the type of crap I tend to like for some reason by the end of the season.


 

norn.gif

Norn9

Let’s see how can I explain this one…

I didn’t hate it.

But I do not see myself coming back to watch it again.

There really wasn’t anything wrong with it at all. The powers were interesting, the MC girl is a bit… bland… but the other characters were kinda fun.

I just don’t think it is something I will end up watching.


 

akagami2

Akagami no Shirayuki-hime

Shirayuki returns and I couldn’t be happier given how much I enjoyed it before.

I really am going to enjoy see what happens in this half of the show and how far the relationships build.


 

aokana.gif

Ao no Kanata no Four Rhythm

Surprisingly a fairly decent start.

I kind of just went into this because it was there more and suggested to me by someone (somewhat jokingly) more than I actually wanted to see it or anything.

From what I have seen of it and know if it looks like it is a VN adaptation of your typical multi route game. Also, though I could be wrong, I feel like I already know what will be going on.

MC was a star player when it came to the game that is used with those Grav-Shoes (which I will admit I want) but quit. Probably for a pathetic reason. But thanks to new girl(s) who show up and get into the game his spark for loving the game is reignited and bam they all love each other all night long and…

 

… woah getting into a different territory there.

Anyway I might watch it. Since it is there. The comedy was alright and the cast and animation was decent.

But there wasn’t much of a pull from the show to come back either…


 

mahou.gif

Mahou Shoujo Nante Mouiidesukara

Let this be a lesson to all you young girls.

Don’t trust random things inside the garbage.

They will turn you into a swimsuit wearing magical girl.


 

OK!

So I do believe with that I have watched nearly everything I wanted, and some I wasn’t planning to watch, now and it honestly was a lot more than I was going to originally.

Looking back over what I have watched:

Definite Keepers:

  • Dagashi Kashi
  • Oji-san to Marshmallow
  • Phantom World
  • AssClass 2
  • Shirayuki

Probably Staying:

  • Aokana
  • Shoujo-Tachi
  • Bubuki Buranki
  • Dimension W
  • Tabi Machi Late Show
  • Ooya-san wa Shishunki
  • Koukaku no Pandora
  • Luck and Logic
  • Bokumachi

Leaning Against the Fence:

  • Oshiete! Galko-chan
  • Active Raid
  • Divine Gate
  • Grimgar
  • Phantasy Star Online
  • Undefeated Bahamut Chronice
  • Mahou Shoujo Nante
  • Norn9

Kicked Out:

  • Sekkou Boys
  • Haruchika

 

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Bran New Day Blog

A simple blog about Gaming, Anime, Game Development, and Anything else I can think of.

In the Cubbyhole

Traversing the world of anime & videogames

The Portuguese Bibliophile

The blog of a girl who loves to read and talk about books.

The August Hail

Official + Fan Translated Light Novel Reviews

Falconhaxx

This and that, sometimes and occasionally.

Nia Blog - Art & Technology

My favourite purchases, my videos and my designs

Healthy.Nappy.Nerdy.Mommy.

My life chronicles about healthy living, natural hair, nerdy interest, as a loving wife and mother.

Weekend Otaku

Spring is blooming all around

