Winter 2016 Anime: It’s Finally Over

Hello Everyone!

I am not going to lie. This season was… awful for me.

What started with a few good shows and a plethora of meh shows dwindled itself down into a ugly pit of shows dropped through the season with only a handful surviving the purge and making it to the very end.

So let us get underway the last post for this season!

Grimgar5.gif

Hai to Gensou no Grimgar

While I ended up liking Grimgar for what it was I did not end up liking the addition of the blue-haired Mary.

Not saying I hated her or anything really, that was reserved for Ranta, but she just couldn’t replace Yume for me.

Yet the show went and replaced Yume, in my opinion, with Mary.

Add onto the horribly slow start to the show and its scarily slow pacing overall Grimgar didn’t fair well rating wise through me even if I did “enjoy” it.


 

ooyasan6

Ooya-san wa Shishunki!

There really isn’t anything I can add to Ooya-san that I haven’t already mentioned multiple times through the season.

It was a cute short with a fun cast.


 

Bahamut5

Saijaku Muhai no Bahamut

This season’s Bahamut was… decent?

On one hand it wasn’t really much better than your average harem full of cliche harem like moments.

But on another I really liked the characters and what was going on.

Not really amazing but depending on your taste for harem shows not exactly awful.


 

Phantom5

Musaigen no Phantom World

Surprisingly… or perhaps not so much given how this season ended for me… Phantom ended up being one of my top favorites of the season.

I know I am already biased by being a KyoAni fan but I really don’t think Phantom was nearly as bad as people kept saying it was through the season.

Though I can agree that the last two episodes showed that KyoAni can write an epic series if they tried they just need to find the source to do so with.


 

marshmallow5.png

Oji-san to Marshmallow

Another great short this season brought us.

And though the ending was kind of… well open about whether they actually got together or not. I as a shipper clearly put them together whether they are or not.


 

Konosuba4

Konosuba

Another that ended up one of the few I call a favorite of the season.

Luckily Konosuba has already gotten another season announcement so it is only so much time before there are more lovely explosions.

Despite the DEENimation being… well DEENish in places… it was still an enjoyable series and if it wasn’t for that DEENimation I don’t honestly think Konosuba would have been as enjoyable as it was.


 

Galko3.png

Oshiete! Galko-chan

Though Galko-chan’s humor over the course of its episodes was pretty crude and crass it was still pretty enjoyable I thought.

It is one of those shorts I am gonna miss just having around to spend a few minutes getting a laugh.


 

DW4.gif

Dimension W

Though I loved Mira and originally loved the story Dimension W quickly crumbled into a mess that I cared less about watching.

I really think it had potential to be something great but it just didn’t use that potential it had stored away.


 

dagashi7.gif

Dagashi Kashi

Technically not over yet but Dagashi is another that ended up being one of the few loved shows this season.

Though there were times were it droned on for various reasons and Hotaru’s… Hotaru’s got annoying sometimes I still liked the show.

I would say though… I probably wouldn’t want a second season.


 

And that pretty much concludes the season.

I am currently working on Shirayuki (just finished my Season 1 Rewatch) and as soon as I am done with that I will hit up Rakugo.

I also need to look at what I can hate for next season.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Bran New Day Blog

A simple blog about Gaming, Anime, Game Development, and Anything else I can think of.

In the Cubbyhole

Traversing the world of anime & videogames

The Portuguese Bibliophile

The blog of a girl who loves to read and talk about books.

The August Hail

Official + Fan Translated Light Novel Reviews

Falconhaxx

This and that, sometimes and occasionally.

Nia Blog - Art & Technology

My favourite purchases, my videos and my designs

Healthy.Nappy.Nerdy.Mommy.

My life chronicles about healthy living, natural hair, nerdy interest, as a loving wife and mother.

Weekend Otaku

Spring is blooming all around

