Taking it Easy for Fall 2016, Mid-Season Lull

Well… it was expected that between school and work I wasn’t going to have much time to blog but I wasn’t personally expecting it to be over a week of nothing. Work hasn’t even gotten busy yet either!

Anyway I was going to do a manga post but I dislike doing the same post twice in a row so I am going to wing it and talk about anime instead. I say wing it of course because… well I feel like I am behind on everything and due to a lackluster season I seem to be dropping more shows at the season goes on.

Yuri3.gif

Yuri on Ice

So probably because of how lackluster this season is I would probably give Yuri my #1 or #2 spot of the season at this point. The designs are great and the comedy is pretty good. Also it is so fabulously gay and doesn’t even try to hold that back.

It seems, to me at least, to be heading to a point though right now that we won’t make it through the full tournament it is going into. This could mean it will try for a second season, which I doubt, or Yuri will end up losing at some point.


working3.gif

WWW.Working

No one should question my love for the original working (it is #11 on my Top Anime list after all) but this spinoff is… just outright not trying.

Sure I like most of the characters and the pairings (which I admit I love pairing characters) are easy to see. But they have used the same damn jokes for most of the season already. Yes we get it, Miyakoshi can’t make chocolate at fucking all. We don’t need to see that she can’t 5 out of the 7 episodes.

Of course I get a good chuckle here or there in the episodes but good lord can we at least put some effort into the jokes?


pingponggirls3

Shakunetsu no Takkyuu Musume

Despite the fact I am really enjoying ping pong girls there is also plenty that seems to bug me about it. But putting what bothers me into words seems to be difficult… because I can’t even figure out how right now.

One issue I do have with the show though that isn’t difficult to articulate is the fact it is only reaching its practice match after the half way point of the season. This tells me they either are clearly hoping for more seasons… or they are going to end at a weird point for something that has been toting itself to going to some big tournament since like the second episode.


bravew3

Brave Witches

Given my love for Strike Witches I wanted to really fall in love with Brave Witches. Unfortunately even by the mid point of the show it just doesn’t capture the same charm Strike Witches gave to me while I watched that.

Honestly at this point I could care so little about this team I have no care for what happens or doesn’t happen to them and am currently debating continuing on at this point.


Izetta3.gif

Shuumatsu no Izetta

Oh the amount of things I could complain about with Izetta… the story, the derps in animation, the characters themselves…

The story, while on a limited level still interests me, is focusing on stuff I could care less about, namely Izetta and her powers (or her bust not sure which at this point), and not on stuff I find interesting like the whole war in general. The drops in animation quality are way too noticeable (when not focused on Izetta’s rifle or bust) and is honestly way too distracting.

And… yeah… I just dunno if I want to bother finishing this anymore.


keijo2.gif

Keijo

I will tell it like it is. Keijo is pure, unadulterated, guilty pleasure.

Sure it is fun seeing how serious the characters (and through them the writers of the show) take the sport of Keijo but for me as a viewer?

I am just here for tits and ass.


stella2.gif

Stella no Mahou

Currently tied with Yuri on Ice for me in the #1-2 spot of the season Stella is kind of our only CGDCT series that isn’t about sports. The characters are fun and the story is mildly interesting but in the end it is a CGDCT series and what keeps me around is them doing… well cute things together.




The Shorts:

-Getsuyoubi no Tawawa: The Tawawa’s are powerful.

-Okusama ga Seitokaichou+: MC is still a dick. Still want Ui and Misumi yuri action.

-Nobunaga no Shinobi: Still OK but still nothing amazing.

One thought on “Taking it Easy for Fall 2016, Mid-Season Lull

Add yours

  1. Yuri definitely ended up winning me over while Izetta has definitely been my let down for the season. While there were hints in episode 1 I really didn’t think it was going to turn into that kind of fairly empty anime that focusses more on the cute girls and their outfits than the kind of fictional world war they set up.
    Thanks for sharing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Bran New Day Blog

A simple blog about Gaming, Anime, Game Development, and Anything else I can think of.

In the Cubbyhole

Traversing the world of anime & videogames

The Portuguese Bibliophile

The blog of a girl who loves to read and talk about books.

The August Hail

Official + Fan Translated Light Novel Reviews

Falconhaxx

This and that, sometimes and occasionally.

Nia Blog - Art & Technology

My favourite purchases, my videos and my designs

Healthy.Nappy.Nerdy.Mommy.

My life chronicles about healthy living, natural hair, nerdy interest, as a loving wife and mother.

Weekend Otaku

Spring is blooming all around

