Taking it Easy for Fall 2016, The Fall of Fall 2016 Anime

Hello Everyone, and a Happy New Years to you all.

Marking my first post of 2017 and wrapping up the seasonal anime it is easy to see this season failed spectacularly for me.

It was sort of expected honestly with so little I was looking forward to seeing as well as having school and an increased workload I just didn’t find the time to even enjoy the shows.

Anyway time to wrap up Fall anime and prepare myself for a whole lot of good things coming from the Winter season.

Keijo3.jpg

Keijo

So while I can admit I did really enjoy Keijo it also had its flaws. I don’t really have the energy to go into what those flaws are in depth but they generally consist of stuff like sexualizing women etc etc.

Despite that it was a fun series and the best part of it in my opinion is how they all took this ridiculous as hell ‘sport’ and played it with such enthusiasm and seriousness.

In the end Keijo ended up at a 6.9 out of 10 for me. Nothing spectacular really but it was enough to get enjoyment out of it and finish it to the end.


pingponggirls4.gif

Shakunetsu no Takkyuu Musume

Ping Pong Girls ended up in a peculiar place. First is the fact they kept proclaiming how they would head to the nationals or whatever but all they ended up doing for the season was one practice match against the school with a player touted as strongest so and so but in reality is probably a chump.

Second of course is the fact as far as I saw there was no second season announced. So we are just left kind of hanging as to whether they make it and how far they make it. It’s a generally classic “Hey go buy our manga/ln/game/etc to see.” tactic but I would have rather seen it myself.

Ping Pong Girls ends up at a 6.7 out of 10 here and honestly probably would have been better had it just made that announcement and not focused on just one practice game.


Working4.gif

WWW. Working!!

OK so how to explain my feelings for this working…

Well first, I like some of the characters but definitely not all of them.

A lot of the running gags got old quick.

I did like how obvious the pairings were and there were no convoluted love triangles or anything like that going on.

Some of those pairings rushed pretty fast imo, even though it was like two and a half years in the show.

Overall I give WWW. Working only a 4.6 out of 10. Yeah it wasn’t good enough for me to break through out of the bad range. It had its moments but too much of it made me groan.


Stella3.gif

Stella no Mahou

Stella was probably my favorite of the season (that wasn’t a short) as it consistently stayed good for me where as while Yuri on Ice was also good it had its ups and downs for me.

It also probably helped Stella that it was really the only CGDCT series that didn’t involve sportsy tropes and involved making games which I am always interested in.

At the end Stella wrapped up at a 7.8 out of 10 which is the highest score I gave anything this season.



Yuri4.gif

Yuri on Ice

I will fully admit Yuri on Ice surprised me.

There was no way at the beginning of the season I would have said I actually watched a show like this much less like it as much as I did.

It was fun, it had good animation, and the story in it wasn’t half bad either.

Ending up as my second favorite of my full length episode shows this season at a 7.4 out of 10.





And… yeah that is it. Everything else was either dropped or a short.

I have plenty planned to blog about right now so hopefully there won’t be anymore big lulls here but will have to see one school starts and when my job (assuming they are keeping me) picks back up in a few months.

3 thoughts on “Taking it Easy for Fall 2016, The Fall of Fall 2016 Anime

Add yours

  1. Shorts are anime too! What shorts did you end up watching this season and did you like them? I watched Miss Bernard, Ninja Girl and Samurai Master (Nobunago no Shinobi), and I also whipped through Kiitaro’s Youkai Picture Diary after the last episode aired. Miss Bernard was a big personal favourite as I was pleasantly surprised both at the number of interesting book facts and the character development.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Shorts most definitely are anime but rarely have enough going on it seems that can be talked about. Not always the case of course, and it isn’t like I talk a lot on full length shows either, but it is common enough.

      Best short probably would have to go to Getsuyoubi no Tawawa for me. After that one it was probably a tie between Bernard and Shinobi. Bernard because I enjoyed it more after I thought “Oh my God this is Literary Girl from Nichibro’s at school!” Shinobi because it was cute.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Shinobi is cute, isn’t it? I’m sadly deficient in my knowledge of Sengoku history, which I understand improves some of the jokes, but it definitely works just fine without having existing knowledge of the characters.

        Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Bran New Day Blog

A simple blog about Gaming, Anime, Game Development, and Anything else I can think of.

In the Cubbyhole

Traversing the world of anime & videogames

The Portuguese Bibliophile

The blog of a girl who loves to read and talk about books.

The August Hail

Official + Fan Translated Light Novel Reviews

Falconhaxx

This and that, sometimes and occasionally.

Nia Blog - Art & Technology

My favourite purchases, my videos and my designs

Healthy.Nappy.Nerdy.Mommy.

My life chronicles about healthy living, natural hair, nerdy interest, as a loving wife and mother.

Weekend Otaku

Spring is blooming all around

