Tales of Anime: Baka to Test

Hello Everyone!

My fever has more or less broke and I thought I would try my hand at a new series of posts. I don’t really have a plan for these posts right now and of course I don’t follow any sort of schedule for anything so it will just intermingle with the rest every now and again.

So the idea is I will randomly choose shows I have watched over the years and… kind of give my thoughts on them I suppose. Nothing overtly fancy, detailed, or even really specific.

I’m going to start out with what I would consider my #1 anime only in the large sense that it is the first anime I watched when I started binge watching anime back in 2012. So starting off these posts shall be Baka to Test.

bakatest

It’s interesting that I consider this my #1 simply because I watched it first when I began my long, dark, descent into hell watching anime. It is interesting because I know now after five years of watching anime that the show is… mediocre at best really. But at the time especially I think it was everything I was looking for to watch. Before Baka and Test I primarily watched things like Gundam, Dragonball, and assorted similar shows none of which at the time I really acquainted with anime specifically.

Primarily Baka and Test is full of most of your usual tropes for anime, given I didn’t know of them at the time, such as the cute homely looking girl not knowing how to cook, the flat chested tomboy prone to outbursts of violence, and of course the clueless MC who can’t see the attention he is actually getting. Had I watched this show more recently after I had already watched a few years of anime if I hadn’t outright just dropped it I know it would have been a easily forgettable show.

bakatest2.png

Another interesting thing for me about Baka and Test is how it isn’t really all that well known. I can admit to its unpopularity, I mean even I said if it wasn’t the first it’d be mediocre and forgettable at best, but straight up not having seen it seems odd to me. Anyway overall I would say I enjoyed Baka and Test and would probably recommend it to most anime viewers I guess. Especially for the comedy slice of life fans out there.

About StoneWolfe6211

I'm your average twenty-something that just happens to not have your average twenty-something life. I enjoy Anime and Manga. I also like to dabble in writing and Drawing. I also play more games than is necessarily healthy.
This entry was posted in Tales of Anime and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

