Launching into Spring 2017, Third Week… Purge?

Hello Everyone!

Generally as it works in any season I give that good ol’ “three episode trial” and if it doesn’t hook me I drop it.

Well I usually end up with almost half a season dropped through this either due to lack of interest or lack of time to accomplish but this time around… well not much has joined what has already been dropped, in fact I only put a couple shows on hold I didn’t even drop them, and that means I am still looking at somewhere around twenty shows still this season.

SakuraQuest

Sakura Quest

I can see where a lot of people are coming from comparing this to Shirobako I guess. But at the same time I personally hate trying to arbitrarily compare one show to another show because slightly similar characters, or themes, or whatever else. I am liking it despite its somewhat (to me) dorky premise though and hey we don’t have enough anime of non-high school aged kids.

Clockwork Planet – Hrmm… I really for some reason want to like this show. But at the same time it is painfully slow and quite dull for what is being delivered. For now… I think I will be putting it on hold. See what I hear from it later. Not worth keeping it around though.

Eromanga-sensei – Oooooooooh boy. I had some slight knowledge on the series but I never really made it anywhere really. What the first few episodes have shown is that our author of Oreimo has taken all those restrictions of dancing around the topic of incest and blown them all out of the water for this series with the same premise of brother and sister relations. On one hand that could be fun. On the other its Oreimo and it burned me so I dunno really how much I will like it. I’ll probably stick with it for the laughs at the very least.

Hinako Note – Sadly for Hinako Note I still have yet to actually focus on any of its episodes. They somehow just kind of pass by without me noticing. I like it still though and I will somehow give it a proper watching either by rewatching when it is done or binging it at the end of the season. I have yet to decide.

Seikai

Seikaisuru Kado

I realize now that I misspelled this the previous week but I only found out when trying to find the gif for this post…. woops. Anyway despite the full CG which I only barely have a care for I am still fully enjoying the show. The only thing I am not sure of is… where it is really going? I hope it keeps it up like that until something happens cause surprises can be fun.

Rokudenashi Majutsu Koushi to Akashic Records – Bastard Teach has actually improved quite a bit from the start and it wasn’t even a remotely bad start either. I am enjoying the characters and it is fun seeing how Glenn while being slightly incompetent in some aspects of magic excels in insane ways with other ways of magic.

Busou Shoujo Machiavellianism – Slowly but surely we are introducing each of the characters properly and of course all of them seem to be falling for the MC with each introduction. It is typicalish harem crap but I love that crap so I will probably keep watching for awhile still.

Saekano – Let the shipping wars and best girl wars continue I suppose. I’ve been teased there are some more issues between the group this season but it mostly involves Utaha and Eriri so if you are a Kato supporter like I am it doesn’t really mean all that much.

BokuHero2

Boku no Hero Academia

Almost immediately after this season started I had to reread BokuHero. Not because I forgot what all happened but I just had the urge. It reminded me of all the hype that will be contained with this season and how maddeningly insane some of it will be. My only “spoil” to say and it has honestly been hinted at before through the first season. BokuHero isn’t necessarily all happy and fun times. There is some downright dark shit that happens and a good portion of it is coming. I have an idea where it is going to end and it will be the biggest tease for a third season.

Tsuki ga Kirei – This is still really painfully slow to be honest. But I have lately been on a romance kick with my watching and reading of entertainment. This is about all we have this season outside of the harems for filling that void so I am actually gonna keep up with it.

Sword Oratoria – I… am actually really disappointed. A huge amount of skipped material that was actually really important rather than just fluff. Animation, at least so far and to me, is low quality… crap actually. I might binge it post season some time just to say I did watch it… but i’d rather not waste my time.

Bahamut: Virgin Soul – It’s been a fun ride so far and is in that Bahamut flair. I’m not really sure what to take from it other than that though I guess. I’m hoping for some epic stuff to come but for now it has just been Bahamut fun.

 LWA.gif

Little Witch Academia

LWA has hit full stride now after its second half started. We are getting into some really great story stuff here rather than little one off episodes. I’m predicting some big stuff to hit as we get further into this season and honestly it will probably be amazing.

Renai Boukun – Still so amazing and easily my favorite watch each week thus far. I am going to have fun seeing how far they get in given the pacing of the episodes though.

Suka Suka – I don’t really care for this shorthand name I will be honest, dunno why either, but it is soooo much better than that stupidly long name that puts Bastard Teach above to shame. Anyway it has been a good show so far but damn can I feel those feels about to smash us viewers to pieces. The girls don’t care if they get hurt or die and they are used for that exact thing as well.

Zero kara Hajimeru Mahou no Sho – Well this was… something I guess. I didn’t really care for it personally though it was like my only hope for the fantasy genre. Oh well always next fantasy to fix that.



Everything Else:

Granblue Fantasy – Hold/Binge

Attack on Titan – Hold/Binge

Eccentric Family – Hold/Binge/Rewatch S1

Fukumenkei Noise – Dropped

Sin: Nanatsu no Taizai – Hold/Binge/Waiting for Uncensored

Alice to Zouroku – Searching for Episode 3.

Natsume Yuujinchou Roku – Possibly on Hold/Binge

About StoneWolfe6211

I'm your average twenty-something that just happens to not have your average twenty-something life. I enjoy Anime and Manga. I also like to dabble in writing and Drawing. I also play more games than is necessarily healthy.
This entry was posted in Spring 2017 Anime and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Launching into Spring 2017, Third Week… Purge?

  1. Karandi says:

    With you on Sword Oratoria. I really wanted it to be good (mostly because I really wanted an actual sequel to DanMachi but clearly am just having to settle for a spin-off) but the first episode was ordinary and the second was outright bad. I’m giving it another episode and will probably end up watching it because it si a spin-off of DanMachi but I’m not particularly impressed so far.

    Liked by 2 people

    • I knew it was a spin off going in because Sword Oratoria is a separate light novel and manga series over Aiz and the Loki Familia rather than Danmachi with Bell and (generally) the Hestia Familia.

      But they cut out so much content and straight up skipped others that had seriously impacting moments to the story that is Sword Oratoria it is… actually kind of sickening to watch it at all.

      My only hope is that it doesn’t fully bomb and can hopefully give us a second season of Danmachi because the content that they can cover in the LNs is so freaking good.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Taki says:

    Hello! I’m with Karandi and you on this one about Sword Oratoria. There’s just too much skipped content. (I’m assuming you have read the novel since you talked about skipped content). The one on one fight with that big caterpillar, Aiz’s thoughts. Aiz’s supposed disappointment on the increase in her stats. That item Tione (or Tiona?) had negotiated.
    What I do find is a lot of references back to Hestia. Aiz with Hestia’s costume, the opening scene in ep. 1… The show I think needs to get over Hestia. Once you watched Danmachi, in all honesty, Hestia is just one of the show’s characters.. That’s it. I hope the creators of the show realize that the heroine here is Aiz. Maybe it’s hard for them to recreate some of Aiz’ moments because a lot of these are just in her thoughts (not explicitly uttered by the character).
    The Light Novel is so good.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

