Tales of Anime: Chuunibyou demo Koi ga Shitai!

Hello everyone!

So through some talking it out I decided since I didn’t want to do another novel post, it was too soon for seasonal anime or manga, and I haven’t played any games really outside of FFXIV, GW2, and PoE in the last… month or so now… means this (and about three other series of posts) was about all I had available.

But this one won out due to a higher passing interest in wanting to write it.

This time around I will be going over Chu2Koi, or Chuunibyou demo Koi ga Shitai which is also known as Love, Chunibyo & Other Delusions in it’s English circles, and I will be including in this talk both the first and second season.

Chuunibyou_demo_Koi_ga_Shitai!.jpg

I can personally admit that I have a probably blind love towards Chu2Koi. More so maybe than even my #1 show on my anime list. Now don’t get me wrong Chu2 is amazingly well done in my eyes. The characters are enjoyable, the story for the most part is fun, and the backgrounds, animation, colors, and music is all great. Of course a good part of all of that comes from KyoAni of which I think I only have one or two shows I absolutely despise with the rest being amazingly well done.

Now one complaint that I always found silly when I heard people complain about this series was that there wasn’t enough romance. Why this is silly to me is people complain but they generally are usually Westerners complaining about it (given I generally only interact with the western community this seems redundant to say) and the fact that technically… NO they do not ever kiss by the end… if you are only counting just a kiss on the lips.

Chuunibyou.gif

Cause they kiss cheeks at least a half dozen times I can recall.

With the second season my love for the series lessened some because they had to throw in the trope filled friend from the past that works as Rikka’s rival in love. Other than that point of the season it was a fairly great addition to the series and improved the relationship dynamics for those already in the series but just the trope filled mess that was the love rival was a bit… bleh.

Finally related to the series is the upcoming movie. The synopsis for the movie makes me grin a bit with Rikka’s sister wanting to have Rikka move in with her in Italy so the other characters apparently get Rikka and Yuuta to elope. It sounds fun and I hope I can find a place to watch it eventually when it releases.

Overall I would suggest this series to anyone who wants a bit of comedy mixed in with their simple romance slice of life series done by KyoAni and would hope any who do end up watching it enjoys it as much as I did.

Chuunibyou-demo-Koi-ga-Shitai-Take-On-Me-Visual.jpg

About StoneWolfe6211

I'm your average twenty-something that just happens to not have your average twenty-something life. I enjoy Anime and Manga. I also like to dabble in writing and Drawing. I also play more games than is necessarily healthy.
This entry was posted in Tales of Anime and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Tales of Anime: Chuunibyou demo Koi ga Shitai!

  1. Karandi says:

    It is such a great show. I really need to get around to that rewatch of season 2 so that I can review it but I feel much the same way you do about the childhood friend love rival. It was incredibly unnecessary in an otherwise adorable show.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. zboudrie says:

    I loved this show when I watched it, and I agree that the rival in season two seemed unecessary. I always hate that trope when I see it. But I really think that there was no need for them to officially kiss for it to be a sweet show. People show affection in different ways.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Indragar says:

    Wow very nicely done Wolfe!! Also totally stoke about a movie!! Really enjoyed this series and it’s one of my top favorite anime of all time.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

